Addicted To Vinyl Musical thoughts from the open road, with headphones on


Good Listening: Kathleen Edwards – Rocky Mountain Folks Festival 8-19-06

A couple of weeks ago, I posted audio from Kathleen Edwards' appearance on World Cafe. In that posting, I lamented the absence of "Scared At Night," from her latest album Asking For Flowers.

My good friend Jack (a fellow Edwards fan,) emailed me and asked me if I had a copy of Kathleen's performance at the 2006 Rocky Mountain Folks Festival. I figured he was just pointing me towards another good sounding show from Edwards, but I should have known better!

The Rocky Mountain Folks Festival performance from Kathleen is a magnificent sounding show. The show features a performance of "Scared At Night," (download) at the time unreleased, and a good introduction from Kathleen that reveals a great story behind the birth of the song. It gave me a whole new appreciation for the track.

Additionally, (and Jack HAD to know this) the performance features Blue Rodeo's Jim Cuddy, a longtime friend of Edwards, who comes out to duet on "Hockey Skates." (download)

Cuddy, by the way, has a big part in the just-completed video for Kathleen's next single "I Make The Dough, You Get The Glory."

Cuddy plays the captain of the competing team - check it out and see why Jim is one of the great guys on the Canadian music scene. Also, just imagine how much fun they all had making this video. They put a lot of effort into it, and the payoff is certainly visible in the completed product!

Kathleen Edwards - I Make The Dough, You Get The Glory

This performance from the Rocky Mountain Folks Festival is certainly a good career summary for Edwards tightly contained within one CD's worth of live music.

Enjoy it - thanks to Jack for the heads up!

Kathleen Edwards
Rocky Mountain Folks Festival
Planet Bluegrass
Lyons, CO

thanks to the original taper!

Track Listing:

complete zipped download

1. Intro
2. Somewhere Else
3. In State
4. Summerlong
5. Hockey Skates
6. One More Song the Radio Won't Like
7. When Will I Be Loved
8. Mercury
9. Scared At Night
10. Six O'Clock News
11. Good Things
12. What Are You Waiting For
13. Only Love Can Break Your Heart
14. Back To Me
15. Copied Keys
16. Pink Emerson Radio

Relevant Links:

Official website

Purchase Asking For Flowers.